Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Ten Books I Need More People to Love

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature at The Broke and Bookish. This week's theme: Top Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books You've Read in the Past Year or So.

One of my favorite things to do is get other people to read books I love. That way, I can discuss the books with them, and if I know their tastes well enough, I know I'm giving them something that they'll love!

Unfortunately, I can't do this with the entire world. And that means that there are books that I've really enjoyed that just aren't widely loved. Why? I don't know. And that's why I spend so much time trying to get other people to read them. Here are ten books I've read somewhat recently that I think really deserve some more love.

IRON CAST by Destiny Soria: I'll never get tired of diverse books, I'll never get tired of historical fiction, and I'll never get tired of positive female friendships. When you put those all together, they make a book that I pretty much have to love. It's such a great twist on the time, with a little bit of added magic, and the plot kept me on the edge of my seat. (full review here)

VIVIAN APPLE AT THE END OF THE WORLD by Katie Coyle (Vivian Apple #1): I'll admit that this book was a lot more fun before the past election. But it's still a great book! Just picture a slightly shy but still brave girl fighting her way across an America in chaos with a sledgehammer, plus hilarious narration, and it's this book.

EXIT, PURSUED BY A BEAR by E.K. Johnston: This is such an important, honest book (with a great cover and perfect title to boot). I haven't read a lot of YA that tackles the tricky subject of rape/sexual assault, and certainly nothing that handles it as well as this. I'm so glad that I read this.


ON THE EDGE OF GONE by Corinne Duyvis: This is a book that I feel like a lot of people are looking for without knowing it. It literally takes place during the apocalypse, which is an interesting difference from a lot of existing post-apocalyptic/dystopian books already out there. And it's one of the most diverse books I've ever read!

THE STEEP & THORNY WAY by Cat Winters: I really like Cat Winters books, but the premise alone would have pulled me in: Hamlet, but set in 1920s Oregon with a biracial female protagonist. Yes please. And the book didn't disappoint. (full review here)


THE GAME OF LOVE AND DEATH by Martha Brockenbrough: In my underrated books gift guide last year, I recommended this for fans of THE BOOK THIEF, and I think that's what really gets to the essence of why I love it. It's gorgeously written and it has a fascinating take on concepts like love and death.

WILLFUL MACHINES by Tim Floreen: This is an absolutely fascinating book that explores the question of robots and artificial intelligence being considered human. It definitely gives you a lot to think about, but it doesn't sacrifice any of the elements of a good story in order to make you think about it.

A MADNESS SO DISCREET by Mindy McGinnis: I've barely been able to stop thinking about this book since I read it over a year ago. It's fantastically dark, but not in the ways you might be expecting from the premise. It's one of those books that I don't like to say too much about before I recommend it, so you'll have to pick it up for yourself to learn more.


LABYRINTH LOST by Zoraida C├│rdova (Brooklyn Brujas #1): I want more books like this! Diverse fantasy set (at least partially) in the modern world that really focuses on characters and the relationships between them. Fortunately, we're getting two more books in this world, and I'm really excited to read them! (full review here)

A TYRANNY OF PETTICOATS: 15 STORIES OF BELLES, BANK ROBBERS, AND OTHER BADASS GIRLS by Jessica Spotswood: This was like all anthologies for me in that the stories were pretty hit or miss, but I liked most of the stories and there are a handful that I absolutely adored. And there's going to be a sequel anthology next year!

What are some of your favorite underrated books? Have you read any of these? Tell me in the comments!

24 comments:

  1. I'm really excited to read so many of these, and the ones I have read I completely agree with you on.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I haven't read any of the books on your list this week, but a few of them are on my reading wishlist.

    Here's my TTT post for this week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2017/01/top-ten-tuesday-ten-underratedhidden.html

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'd recommend any of these - I hope you like them!

      Delete
  3. 'Petticoats' does sound really fun! Novella collections are usually hit or miss for me too, but most the time the ones I do enjoy make it worth reading. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I definitely get that! A Tyranny of Petticoats has quite a few amazing stories that definitely make up for the ones that aren't as captivating.

      Delete
  4. I have A Game of Love and Death, definitely need to get around to reading it at some point!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/01/17/top-ten-tuesday-92/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I loved that book so much! I hadn't heard of it at all before I read it, so it was a nice surprise.

      Delete
  5. Oh oh I've heard of most of these but only read The Game of Life and Death (WHICH I LOVED SO MUCH...and I nearly had it on my list but I also forgot at the last minute­čśé) And I bought Labyrinth Lost so I'm super excited to read it and really keen for all the diversity. And I keep hearing people recommend Iron Cast....so why haven't I read that yet either?? SO MANY BOOKS. I NEED 9 MORE LIVES.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's such an amazing book!! And yeah, 9 more lives would be SO helpful for reading all the books. I've been checking out other people's lists and I'm pretty sure that's added a dozen books to my TBR, so I should probably stop.

      Delete
  6. I need more people to love A Madness So Discreet too! I've been pushing it onto my friends since I finished reading it. I need to check out everything else on this list too! If only I had all the time in the world to read, haha.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm SO GLAD you loved it! I remember seeing your review and thinking YES, I'm not alone anymore! And I absolutely recommend everything on this list - can't wait to see what you think of them!

      Delete
  7. I've had "A Madness So Discreet" on my shelves for more than a year now and still haven't managed to read it. It was supposed to be one of my Halloween reads in 2015 AND 2016 but I just couldn't find the time >.< Your recommendation is a good motivation to finally read it though, so hopefully I can get it done this year! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That book is the PERFECT Halloween read! I really hope you get to it this year!

      Delete
  8. I've seen a lot of these around but haven't read any myself. I've seen some great reviews for Iron Cast though, and On the Edge of Gone and Willful Machines both sound great and like books I might like!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you check them out! They're all such great books.

      Delete
  9. There are some serious gems on this list! Glad they are getting some love.
    My "Gems":
    http://weliveandbreathebooks.blogspot.com/2017/01/top-ten-tuesday-hidden-gem-books-ive.html

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I like to do what I can for the books I love! Which usually involves screaming about how wonderful they are and begging others to read them, so I hope that works.

      Delete
  10. I really liked Labyrinth Lost too! Glad to hear there's 2 more books. :) I want to read nearly all of your list definitely pushing them up my TBR list.

    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm so excited for the other books in that series! I think it's going to be one about each sister, which sounds great. And I'm so happy that I helped convince you to read the rest!

      Delete
  11. Cat Winters and Mindy McGinnis are a couple of my favorites! They definitely deserve as much love as possible! :)

    Lauren @ Always Me

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've read all of Cat Winters's YA books (and hopefully I'll get to her adult books soon), but A Madness So Discreet is the only Mindy McGinnis book I've read! I really want to read more of her books.

      Delete
  12. The only one of these I've read is Vivian Apple, and I have to confess I wasn't really a fan. But I really want to read Steep and Thorny Way---my secret sister gave me that one!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I had some mixed feelings about Vivian Apple - I really need to reread it. But I absolutely loved The Steep & Thorny Way! I hope you like it!

      Delete